From TOCO Help Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

TOCO Enterprise is designed for collaborative Theory of Change work within organizations, among partners, between grantors and grantees, consultants and clients, and various parties collaborating from different locations. In TOCO Enterprise you can set up one or more teams, share files within the teams, comment on one another's work, assign read-only or edit permissions to different team members and manage the TOCO Enterprise account including number of users on the account, subscription renewal, troubleshooting and technical assistance.

Enterprise Dashboard

Ent Admin Dashboard.jpg

The Enterprise user account owner, or Enterprise Administrator (in this illustration, "Jabar"), has two admin panels on her/his Dashboard.

  • “My Groups” shows any groups, or work teams, the Admin may have set up and the TOCO users in the groups.
    • In this case, user Jabar has three groups--"C," "Group B," and "Slughorn's circle," with a tab for each group. The active tab is Slughorn's circle. The panel shows two members of that work group and the user status of each member.
    • The User Status column shows the permission level each member of the work group has with respect to ToCs shared with that group. Draco is a Reviewer so he has read-only permission; he cannot edit any of the group's ToCs but he can open and read them and leave signed comments for others to read. As Contributor, Slughorn can edit the group's ToCs. Jabar, as the administrator for this account, might assume the role of content manager for the ToCs and, in that case, might choose to make other group members only Reviewers. In this case, it seems, Jabar is involved but Slughorn is managing content; thus Jabar makes Slughorn a Contributor so that Slughorn can carry out the role of content manager.
  • “Recent ToCs” shows up to three most recently active ToCs and related information borrowed from the My ToCs file browser.

My Account Settings and Functions

Ent Admin My Account.jpg

Enterprise Administrators need additional tools to manage their TOCO accounts than the two Dashboard panels. Clicking on the My Account button brings up the "My Account" data area and the Enterprise Admin panel.

  • The data area shows name, TOCO username, email address, location, organization and economic sector. Toward the bottom it identifies the user type--in this case, Enterprise Admin--and shows how many slots are available on the account. Enterprise accounts come with three slots in the base price, one for the owner (the Enterprise Admin) and two others. The Admin can add more user slots to the account at the price of $15 per slot up to a total of 20.
    • To add more slots, click on the blue text that reads "Add more user slots." This will take you away from the TOCO app and into the web pages where you can purchase additional slots.
  • All TOCO users can update their account data by clicking on the button at the bottom that reads "Edit Account" -- for example, to change your password or email address.

The Enterprise Admin panel is for Admins to set up and manage work groups. The panel has two tabs, one (shown) that lists users on the account, another that lists groups. In this case, Jabar, the Admin, has added two TOCO users to his account, and we see their names and overall user status listed here in the Admin Panel on the Enterprise Users tab.

  • Admins can add more users to the account by clicking on the "Add users +" link at the top right of the Admin panel.
  • The panel has an Edit column. By clicking on the Edit icon for any given user the Admin can update permissions and group assignments for that user.
  • To the right of the Edit column is the "Remove" column. By clicking on the red X the Admin can remove a TOCO user from the Enterprise account.

Clicking on the "Groups" tab will show groups and who is in the groups.

Add user dialog new user.jpg

The Add User dialog box has two tabs, one for new users and one for existing users. If you as a Team Admin want to add a new user to your TOCO Enterprise
account--i.e., someone not currently on TOCO, click on the "New User" tab and fill out all the fields (illustrated above.) Then click on the "Activate user" button at the bottom.

Edit user dialog existing user.jpg

The Existing User tab is quite different. Since the person is already registered for TOCO, the purpose here is to link that user to your Enterprise account. This is done by an Access Key. As instructed in the illustration above, you click on the "Generate Access Key" button, which then populates the text field above the button with a coded access key (usually beginning with the letters "ACT"). You can modify the message if you like. Enter the email address of the user to be added in the field provided. (Probably best to add people one at a time even though the form implies you can add more than one user at a time.) Then hit the "Send Access Key" button.

As noted in the illustration it would be good to let the person know to expect the email containing the access key. It is an automatically generated email and is apt to drop into a spam or promotions folder rather than the user's inbox. If you want you can copy the access key into a personal email to the user but the pasted access key will not work to join the user to your account; he or she must use the key that comes in the automatically generated email from ActKnowledge.

Enter access key text field.jpg

The above screenshot shows where the user enters their Access Key to join your TOCO Enterprise account.

Edit user dialog.jpg

The Edit User dialog box is for assigning or updating user status. There are three levels:

  • Reviewer has read-only status but Reviewers can leave comments on the ToC graphic without updating any of the content.
  • Contributor can make edits.
  • Manager can make edits too and can relieve the Admin of some of the Administrative roles, like adding users to/removing users from the group and assigning user status.

The idea behind user status is to ensure sound version control and to avoid a situation where different team members are editing ToC content and cancelling out one another's edits.

Users have an overall status within an Enterprise account but within a group and even for a single ToC, the Admin or Manager can set a different user status for just that group or ToC. As the illustration below shows, the Edit User dialog box allows the Admin (or Manager) to restrict a Contributor's access to a given ToC and/or to change that person's status to Reviewer with respect to that one ToC.
Edit user dialog status.jpg


Managing Groups (Teams)

File Browser Teams.jpg

In Enterprise subscriptions the My ToCs File Browser shows who a ToC file may have been shared with. See annotated screenshot above.

Managing groups.jpg

In Enterprise accounts, the team Administrator can create a new group for collaborating on ToCs around a specific project. Go to the Admin panel by clicking on the My Account button at the top of the Dashboard. When the Admin panel appears (shown above), click on the "Groups" tab. The panel lists the names of the groups already in the account. Click on one of the group names to see the users in each group. Follow the instructions in the annotated screenshot above to edit user status, add or remove users from the group.

  • To create a new group, click on the "Create group +" link at the top of the Admin panel. Name the group and add users to it following the annotated screenshot instructions below.

New Group Dialog.jpg


Sharing ToCs

The video above shows how a TOCO Enterprise account Admin or Manager can share a file with a group. Admin can also share a file with an individual connected with the Enterprise account.

Group members can then find the file by clicking on the shared-file tab of their My ToCs file browser. Click once on the filename to open the ToC (see video below).


As the above video shows, no two users can open a ToC at the same time. If the person sharing the file hasn't closed it the other user will not be able to open it until the sharer has closed the file or logged off TOCO.

The video below shows a team member with Reviewer status opening up a file shared with his/her group, making a comment, and closing the file. The comments feature is designed to facilitate collaborative work. Reviewer status (read-only) is a version control tool intended to avoid a situation in which more than one team member is making edits to a ToC. The team Admin or Manager can give team members Reviewer or Contributor status. Both can make comments, but only a Contributor can edit the content.